I Passed On Cupcakes. What’s Wrong With Me?

12 Aug

Yesterday, I journeyed the five miles or so to check out the newly opened Whole Foods in Marietta.  I strolled all the isles, checking out this and oooohing over that.  Good times.  (Sidenote:  when I was little, I asked my mom if I could have my birthday party at the grocery store.  For some reason or another, grocery stores do it for me. Side, sidenote:  the grocery store birthday party never went down.  Thanks to my  mom, I still have friends.)  Nearing the end of my self-guided Whole Foods tour, I came upon the bakery section and this case of delight!:

Crafty cupcakes

Look at those puppies!  Jumbo works-of-art cupcakes – beautiful!  So you know what I did next?  I took these pictures and walked away. Huh?  So now I keep asking myself, what’s wrong with me?!  Here are a couple of theories:

Theory #1:  The $3.49 price tag was too steep for my penny-pinching ways.

(Thought Bubble: I’ve been on tight budget for a year now and shelled out $$$ for a quick fix on several occasions.)

Theory #2: My personal trainer of a husband is brain washing me while I sleep.

(Thought Bubble: No way, man!  My brain is too strong for his shenanigans.)

Theory #3:  The thought of wearing a bathing suit publicly in a few weeks is affecting my eating habits.

(Thought Bubble:  No way, man.  I love cupcakes too much to let that stand in my way.)

Theory #4 – the most terrifying of them all:  I am starting my decent into cupcake burnout land.

(Thought Bubble:  Not possible.  I bleed frosting)

So that, my friends, is what’s swimming around my brain lately (once I’m done strategizing economic recovery and contemplating farm subsidies).  Anyone out there care to weigh in on what the heck is wrong with me?  Feel free to toss in a few other theories.  Just don’t concur with Theory #4, okay 🙂

Follow cupcakecrusades on Twitter

4 Responses to “I Passed On Cupcakes. What’s Wrong With Me?”

  1. Nessa August 13, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

    So funny. I’m jealous of your proximity to Whole Foods. Our closest one is an hour away. And, really, who wants to spend $3.49 on an Elmo cupcake when there are so many other cool foods (Like whole wheat pastry flour (which I need)) in a Whole Foods store?

    • jnbean August 15, 2011 at 11:36 pm #

      That’s a really good point, Nessa! It was probably sensory overload and that Elmo cupcake just didn’t quite steal the show. I’ll cross my fingers they open a Whole Foods near you soon!!

  2. bellaarchitect September 15, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

    You are too fun-ny Jeanne! I can’t believe you didn’t try one either. Maybe you were on sensory overload with the new store opening up?! Lot’s to see and smell in a Whole Foods these days…or, maybe you need your sidekick {I don’t know if that is me or your hubby, lol}!

    • jnbean September 15, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

      I’m thinking I can redeem myself with the LivingSocial voucher 🙂

Leave a comment