A Sprinkle In My Eye

14 Apr

Steve and I are headed back to DC this weekend to visit family, which I’m very excited about!  I was also very excited…and a little short of breath…to see that Sprinkles Cupcakes has now opened a location in Georgetown!  Sprinkles, the Sprinkles.  A cupcakery pioneer!   ‘Cause according to their website, Sprinkles is “the world’s first cupcake bakery”.  I mean, if I was to consider myself a true cupcake crusader I should have been to Sprinkles years ago.  Alas, its west coast origins landed Sprinkles on my “ho-hum, some sweet day”-list… a sprinkle in my eye, if you will.

It all started in California (Beverly Hills to be exact), but has now stretched across the country to places like Chicago, Dallas, Scottsdale, and (ta da!) Washington, DC.   I can do DC!   Cue the elation, anticipation, and frantic OMG “we have got to go” message to Steve.  Another reason why visiting this establishment is so monumental – the founder, Candace Nelson, is a regular judge on the Food Network’s “Cupcake Wars”.  And ooh, how I love that show and have formed some serious pipe dreams of one day being a guest judge myself.  So now I’m daydreaming about our visit to Sprinkles this weekend.  If you have a few extra minutes to spare and fancy reading the details of said daydream (in attempted longest-run-on-sentence form),  just scroll on down!

My sights are set on Sprinkles, folks!  Stay tuned –  I will jubilantly post my review soon.

My Sprinkles Daydream, by Jeanne:

We get to Georgetown where it’s sunny and 70 degrees and find on-street parking right in front on Sprinkles and our meter has a full hour left on it and then we enter the cupcakery and it smells amazing and Candace Nelson herself is there to greet us with heavenly, melt-in-your-mouth mini cupcake samples and she’s super nice and asks us what brings us to her store and when she finds out about Cupcake Crusade she’s really intrigued and asks me to contact her people and then her people ask my people (aka me) to come out to California and I get a behind-the-scenes-of-Sprinkles-type tour and eat cupcakes for breakfast/lunch/and dinner and actually feel healthier than ever and then they ask me to be a guest judge on Cupcake Wars which goes really well so they ask to sponsor a cross-country Cupcake Crusade tour where Steve and I spend a year travelling all across the country eating awesome cupcakes and meeting awesome people all of which is documented in a tv series so that we can share the experience with everyone and then maybe a book will follow and then…I think that’s good – the end!

6 Responses to “A Sprinkle In My Eye”

  1. ccreader April 14, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    sweet dreams :)!!

  2. Bryan Cono April 14, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

    OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I LOVE Sprinkles!!! FABOOSH!!!!!
    I am so envious!

    • jnbean April 14, 2011 at 8:39 pm #

      Now you have me even more excited!! Any recommendations, favorites??

  3. Carla April 15, 2011 at 3:53 am #

    What joy! A cross country cupcake banquet! I hope you also get a chance to check out Crumbs cupcakes located in Union Station. I am truly addicted to the cupcake in a box, yum-yum! Hope you have or had a great visit in DC.

    • jnbean April 18, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

      Thanks so much Carla! I unfortunately didn’t get to Crumbs and know that I’m missing out. The apple cobbler and milkshake cupcakes, oh and the raspberry swirl, on their website look amazing! I saw they opened a location in Clarendon too, so that is now top priority for the next time I’m home!

Leave a comment