Trader Joe’s Gets In The Game

18 Dec

Oh Trader Joe’s, you never cease to amaze me!  Your savory treats, creative dishes, your constantly stocked shelves of well-priced Peanut Butter Puffins, a delicious sample or two always waiting for me (the way to my heart is with free food samples)… 

Well, during my last visit I found another reason to love Trader Joe’s – they have cupcakes!  And a mother of all cupcakes, at that.  There’s no way you can miss this puppy, it’s HUGE!  I estimated 10″ in diameter.  Hence its name – “Giant Chocolate & Peppermint Cupcake”.  And price – $7.99.  Now, that was a bit too pricey for my budget so I’m gonna have to ask Santa for this one.  But if you’ve got 10-12 cupcake lovers to feed this holiday, why not do it in one easy shot?

TJ also advertises “Divine Nine Cupcakes” in their weekly newsletter (aka The Fearless Flyer).  I didn’t spot these, I think because I was so entranced by the giant cupcake.  But apparently, there is a pack of nine mini cupcakes containing (3) chocolate w/sea salt cupcakes, (3) black & white cupcakes, and (3) chocolate w/caramel butter cream for $6.99.   Sounds like they’re worth looking for, right?

Now, back to the giant cupcake!  Is a cupcake really a cupcake if it can’t fit in a cup?  Or if it serves more than one person?  I’m starting to think now, that “giant cupcake” is an oxymoron.  Any cupcake historians out there that care to weigh in??  (Any cupcake historians out there, period?  🙂 )

2 Responses to “Trader Joe’s Gets In The Game”

  1. patti garrigan November 16, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    I bought the divine nine charming little cupcakes today for a company meeting. They were so hard to get out of the package that I ruined part of the frosting. The packaging was not very good. The cupcakes were tasty but the packaging ruined it for me and I won’t be buying them again unless the packaging changes.

    • jnbean November 16, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

      That’s a bummer that your cupcakes took a blow like that. It’s amazing what an impact packaging can have. Good to know that they were tasty though! I keep telling myself – next time I’m in Trader Joe’s and I see the Divine Nine, I HAVE to buy them 🙂

Leave a Reply

