Oh Publix, You Temptress

17 Nov

 Publix got me twice – hook, line, and sinker.  First time, I was picking up a few things for dinner and spotted a cheery cupcake display.  Turns out it was for Cupcake Vineyard wines. Cupcake in a wine form?!   Genius!!  (Although, does this display mislead kids at all??)

Wine + Cupcake = Danger

Anyway, I had to have some.  Their 2009 Chardonnay was said to contain “decadent flavors of butter cream, bright citrus, and vanilla”, so that bottle went right into my cart.  It was in the $10 range and won some awards, so it seemed like a wise purchase.  (Read my impression of the wine at the bottom of the page.) 

Second time Publix got me, my husband and I were grocery shopping…after going for a run.  So, I was scooping up any kind of samples they had to offer that day.  (No matter what, I always find myself at the grocery store with an empty stomach!)  But then, we walked by the bakery case and, darn it, it gets me ever time.  I don’t know if it’s the lighting or what, but somehow those cakes and petit fours and eclairs and CUPCAKES  look like sparkling jewels!  They caught my eye and were impossible to resist!!  Steve didn’t pry me away, which means he wanted one too but I had to do the dirty work.  There were just three varieties to choose from (in this particular case) – Red Velvet, Chocolate w/Raspberry Filling, and Vanilla w/Lemon Filling, Cream Cheese Frosting, and White Chocolate Curls.  It was hard to decide, but the Vanilla confection won out.  Publix, yet again, proved I have no self-control when it comes to cupcakes.

Later, after all the groceries were unpacked and dinner was had, we split the cupcake and happily dug in.  It was good, too, mmmm!  The cake was soft and fresh, and the lemon filling was light and tangy.  All of that played deliciously with the cream cheese frosting and white chocolate curls topping.  The frosting wasn’t an especially cream cheesy cream cheese, which I appreciate.  It was almost like an amalgamation of the Duncan Hines Cream Cheese and Butter Cream frostings.  My only qualm after looking at the licked-clean plate – we should’ve gotten two cupcakes.  Steve really liked it, too and felt it deserved a spot on the Top 10.  I concur, I’ll find it a spot on the list.  Just goes to show, grocery store cupcakes can compete!

Here we go to the break down

Publix Super Market / 885 Woodstock Road, Roswell, GA (King Plaza Location) / www.publix.com

1. Price: $2.89

2. Room temperature:  No, they were kept in a cold case.

3.  Size:  What would be the next size up after standard?  Let’s say this cupcake was hearty.

4. Vegan or gluten-free options:  Nope.

5. To-go packaging:  A single cupcake clamshell.  It’s a #1 plastic, so it’s now in my recycling bin.

6. Milk for sale?:  Oh, you know it!

7.  Other treats for non-cupcake enthusiasts you may have in tow:   Isles and isles of grocery store goods to choose from!

8.  Ambiance:  For a grocery store, Publix is quite pleasant (it’s no Wegmans, but still…).  They had a little nook, near the front of the store, with tables and chairs to dine-in if you fancy.

9. Service: The woman assisting me was very kind.  Actually, the whole staff at Publix is usually on top of their game – smiling, asking if you need help, taking your groceries to you car, etc.

Okay, back to the wine.  First, I should mention that I am no where close to knowing anything about wine.  I know that I’ve had some wine that I like and some that I don’t, and that’s about it.  As for this wine, the chardonnay was a disappointment.  It didn’t remind of a cupcake, whatsoever.  I was trying SO hard to taste the butter cream and vanilla in there, too.  I definitely had high hopes that were squashed like the very grapes that went into this wine.  Oh well.  I later had the chance to try their 2010 Sauvignon Blanc with “integrated flavors of Meyer lemons,Key limes and a finish that awakens the appetite” and it was tasty.  I kind of picked up a cupcake association with this one, and would recommend cupcake + wine aficionados out there to give it a go.  Cheers!

Leave a Reply

