First stop – Annapolis

1 Jul

Well, it was unexpected but a pleasant surprise – to have my very first subject be more of a destination instead of local bakery.  I had to go to Annapolis for work today, so before I hit the road I did a quick google search for “annapolis cupcakes” and up popped Nostalgia Cupcakes.  Located at 188 Main Street, it’s set right in the heart of the historic city. (Any fans of architectural history out there?  Annapolis is a must!) 

So, after work I excitingly made my way over to Nostalgia.  I got there around 4:30 pm and they close at 6 pm, so the case was dwindling a bit.  There was still a variety to choose from though so I went for the Peanutbuttercupcake and Grandma’s Best Chocolate.   (I need to make smarter choices next time, like one chocolate and one vanilla. Not two chocolate cakes. Whoops.  Does the learning curve apply here?)   I was flying solo on this mission, so I took them back to the car where I could dig in without restraint (I didn’t have time to get lunch so I was STARVING!  I’m surprised the cupcakes actually made it back to the car.)

The verdict?  Pretty yummy!  The peanutbuttercupcake was very moist with a peanutbutter filling, ganache topped, and a little extra peanut butter swirl on top of that.  I don’t know if I would order this again though.  I wouldn’t complain if the chocolate flavor was kicked up a notch. Next up, the Grandma’s Best Chocolate cupcake with vanilla buttercream.   Very yummy!  Again, the cake was moist and the buttercream was pretty darn awesome.  It wasn’t overly sweet or thick, just fluffy, sugary goodness with a hint of almond (I think that’s what I was tasting).  The crunchy, colorful sprinkles around the edge of the buttercream was a fun touch, too.  Now, I want to be sure to include my husband’s two cents on here when I can (he has a very particular palate), so I had to be sure to stop myself from finishing off the goods.  That way he could have a few bites once I got home.  It was definitely harder for me to stop eating the Grandma’s Best.  His verdict: both were good.  No criticism from him.  Way to go Nostalgia! He’s a tough cookie when it comes to food.

Cupcake Crusade is still a work in progress, but I thought I’d run down a check list for each review.  This will probably evolve with time…

Nostalgia Cupcakes, www.nostalgiacupcakes.com

1.   Price:  $3.00

2.  Room temperature cupcakes: Yes

3.  Vegan or gluten free options:  Vegan cupcakes are on the menu, but it looked like they were sold out by the time I got there.

4.  To-go packaging:  Cardboard box, with cupcake holders inside -yay!  I’m digging that feature.

5.  Milk for sale: Yup! Bottled milk and a few other beverages available in a fridge.

6.  Other treats for non-cupcake enthusiasts you may have in tow:  I don’t think so.  Didn’t see any at the shop or on their online menu.

7.  Ambiance:  Cute.  Pretty blue and white color scheme.  Definitely had a  couple tables for you to “dine in”.  I felt like it needed something to warm up the place a bit though, maybe the lighting…some table clothes…flowers.  ?? I don’t know – I’m a big fan of warm and cozy things, so just a splash of cozy would be lovely!

Final Verdict:  I love the Grandma’s Best Chocolate cupcake so much that it’s taking the #2 spot on the “Top 10” list.

UPDATE (11/16/2011):  I just learned that Nostalgia has closed their doors after 3 years of service, which is a huge bummer for the cupcake community.  You will be missed, Nostalgia!

7 Responses to “First stop – Annapolis”

  1. Alexa July 15, 2010 at 9:30 pm #

    This cupcake crusade website is awsome Jeanne! I read about the two cupcakes at the bottom of the page, the peanut butter cupcake sounded pretty good! I just love your blog I’m going to ask my my mom if she can help me start my own blog about Pugs!

    • jnbean July 15, 2010 at 9:53 pm #

      Thanks so much, Alexa! You are so sweet 🙂 Thank you for visiting my site. Good luck with your pug blog- that sounds wonderful!

  2. pasunepomme July 27, 2012 at 5:15 pm #

    I hear tell the owner of this bakery has set up a new shop in Bowie, under the name of the Cake Courtesan. Have you tried it out? If so, how do the cupcakes compare? Did you notice any changes?

    • jnbean September 20, 2012 at 11:07 am #

      Oh how interesting! If you go, you’ll have to let me know what you think! I’m not in the area any more so I’m afraid I won’t get a chance to try it any time soon. But I’ll need to put it on my radar. Thanks for the scoop!

  3. jnbean July 29, 2010 at 8:23 pm #

    Thanks so much! I really appreciate you visiting. All the best to you!

  4. jnbean August 31, 2010 at 3:58 am #

    Many, many thanks!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. World Wide News Flash - July 1, 2010

    First stop ? Annapolis…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

Leave a Reply

