Starting the New Year on Cloud 9

7 Jan

Something about ringing in the new year brings out the little girl in me.  No matter how old I am these days, I still hope that my celebration will involve at least one of the following:

-confetti

-a sparkly dress

-festive finger foods

This year, my husband and I were invited to feast and count down to 2011 with our cool neighbors.  When I got the invite I was running errands in Roswell and drove past Cloud 9 Frozen Yogurt & Cupcakes.  Ah Ha!  Cupcakes = festive finger food WITH confetti on it!  I went in and purchased four cupcakes…and then counted down to the count down.  I’m not sure people realize how challenging it is for me to 1) to be left alone with cupcakes and 2) to be patient, especially when it comes to eating :)  But I did it and the evening turned out to be most enjoyable.  After all was said and done, I was crawling into bed at 1 am, smelling like campfire and frosting – 2011 was off to a great start!

Back to the cupcakes!  We ended up splitting the cupcake in fours, so that we all got to sample each flavor.  Here’s what we thought:

-Birthday Cake (funfetti cake, vanilla buttercream, confetti-like sprinkles): good cupcake, not too sweet and fresh cake.

-Black & White (chocolate cake, vanilla buttercream, more confetti-like sprinkles): same as above

-Strawberry (strawberry cake, strawberry cream cheese frosting): Tasty, fresh cake.  Not overly strawberry-flavored.   But do note, it’s a strawberry cream cheese frosting.  I personally prefer strawberry buttercream, but hey, that’s just me.

-Cookies & Cream (chocolate chip cake, Oreo cream cheese frosting)*:  The unanimous favorite!  The cake was insanely soft and spongy, and the chocolate chips on the bottom were appreciated.  Good stuff here!

*Some readers may remember my post a few months back about my fructose-intolerance.  Well, after I had these cupcakes I had a sneaking suspicion that fructose may have been an ingredient.  Turns out Oreo cookies, in the Cookies & Cream cupcake frosting, have high-fructose corn syrup in them.  Just a heads-up for other fellow fructose-intolerant comrades out there.

Let’s break it down now!

Cloud 9 Frozen Yogurt & Cupcakes / 1195 Woodstock Road (Super Target Shopping Center) / Roswell, GA / www.cloud9roswell.com  

1. Price: $2.75 each / $30 dozen

2. Room temperature:  Yes, these treats are ready to rock n’ roll.

3.  Size:  Standard, a generously sized standard.  Generously frosted too – score! 

4. Vegan or gluten-free options: You can special order gluten-free, but have to get them by the dozen ($30 per dozen).

5. To-go packaging:  Cardboard box with dividers inside and logo on top.

6. Milk for sale?:  It’s not on the menu, but if you ask they might be able to get you a cupful.  On the menu – coffee, hot chocolate, sodas, and water.  They did have the water pitcher and cups out for self-serve water, which I always appreciate.  It’s the little things, you know?

7.  Other treats for non-cupcake enthusiasts you may have in tow:   Frozen yogurt -lots of flavors and toppings to choose from.  Plus, they had this “yogurt cake bottom” thing to put at the bottom of your yogurt cup -to get the get the best of both worlds (I’m guessing).  Cloud 9 is really like two shops in one, catering to two hot trends right.

8.  Ambiance:  Airy and fun.  Calming periwinkle blue walls, sleek blue and white seating, modern, cloud-like light fixtures…On one wall, they displayed entries from a cupcake coloring contest, which added charm and a sense of community.

9. Service:  The word dedication pops into my mind.  I first encountered their dedication when I was leaving the art store (in the same shopping center as Cloud 9).  A Cloud 9 employee was coming in with a tray full of mini cupcake samples, and he let me have one!  Then, once inside Cloud 9 the other employee seemed genuinely happy to see and help me.  Plus, the place was spotless.  You can tell that Cloud 9 takes pride in what they do.

*Nice feature – you can order cupcakes on their website (1 dozen minimum) and they can custom create yogurt and cupcake flavors to “enhance any themed event”.

So, to sum it all up I’d say I truly enjoyed my trip to Cloud 9.  Cool decor and excellent customer service.  The cupcakes, although quite tasty, didn’t make the cut for Top 10.  The Cookies & Cream did come pretty darn close to placing though.  It’s still worth a visit; I think kids especially will get a kick out of all the sugary options to choose from!

*Thank you L & L for the fun night, your wonderful hospitality, and the delicious food!

UPDATE (2/2/2010):  So I went back to Cloud 9 after suggestions to try their Red Velvet cupcakes, hearing that it was better than Georgetown Cupcake’s version.  My friend, Beatrix, joined me on this mission to revisit Cloud 9 and we had a grand time sampling new flavors.  While the Red Velvet was good (the cakes was very fresh with a nice flavor, and wasn’t the scary shade of red), I’m afraid that (at this time) Georgetown Cupcake is still my favorite red velvet cupcake maker.   I WILL say, though, the Snowball cupcake we had a Cloud 9 was AWESOME!  A (fresh!) vanilla cake with soft coconut buttercream (just the right amount), topped with shredded coconut.  I want another one…right now…maybe one every day.  With this kind of reaction, I’m thinking this lovely cupcake deserves a spot on the TOP 10!   Beatrix had the Salted Caramel and really enjoyed it, too.  She was licking the wrapper, which I never see her do! 

Cloud 9 Frozen Yogurt and Cupcakes on Urbanspoon

2 Responses to “Starting the New Year on Cloud 9”

  1. Lindsey January 7, 2011 at 4:15 pm #

    Awww, Thank YOU Jeanne for the wonderful cupcake experience (and for calling us “cool”)! We certainly enjoyed it, and hope to encounter more with you in your cupcake quest. <3

    • jnbean January 7, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

      Well, you guys are totally cool :) Thanks for reading, and spreading the word Lindsey! I really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

