Found: Pinky, the Nomadic Cupcakery!

28 Aug

Today’s subject – Curbside Cupcakes.  This mobile cupcake company operates out of “Pinky”, their pink cupcake truck that makes multiple stops around downtown DC throughout the day.   I feel that Pinky and I share a common bond, in that we roam the streets in the name of cupcakes.  

 

I can’t tell you how excited I was to spot “Pinky the Cupcake Truck”. I felt like I stumbled upon Santa Claus or the Easter Bunny.  I happened to be in southeast DC Wednesday afternoon and saw it parked by the Navy Yard metro (corner of M St. SE and New Jersey Ave).   Without any hesitation, I immediately turned the car around, parked, and got in the line of approximately 20 people.  I’m pretty sure that majority of the line-goers were business professionals, taking a quick snack break.  Everyone seemed to be in a jolly mood, almost like school kids in line at the ice cream truck.   

Once up front, I made my selection of 3 cupcakes – the Red Velvet (said to be their signature cupcake), Key Lime, and Strawberry w/Vanilla.  Because of the cream cheese frosting, I figured I had to eat the Red Velvet right away.  The other two (with butter cream frosting) I saved to eat later with my husband.  After all was said and…eaten, here’s what I thought: 

-The Red Velvet was still pretty cold upon consumption, and I had waited about 15 minutes.  It was still very good, though.  Nice dark red color, lots of creamy and sweet frosting…and what really pulled it all together nicely was the single chocolate chip on top of the frosting.  It’s amazing how something so small as a chocolate chip can make a lasting impression.  Nice touch Curbside Cupcakes! 

-The Key Lime was awesome!   I had to order this one because I recently attempted to make my own key lime cupcakes, and they didn’t turn out so great.  Curbside Cupcakes got it right for sure!  Simple and sweet –  vanilla cupcake with zesty key lime frosting.  

 -The Strawberry w/Vanilla did not disappoint either!  I originally bit into this one thinking it was the Red Velvet because of the red cupcake.  They look similar but taste oh so different.  Strawberry cake with vanilla butter cream.  Yummy, is all I can say…and that I want another one.  My husband too, he said this was his favorite.  

Note: both the Key Lime and Strawberry cupcakes were eaten hours after ordering, and were perfect – very moist cake and soft frosting.  SO worth the wait!   

Something else to keep in mind, Curbside Cupcakes can deliver their tasty treats for your next DC-area party, meeting, or event.  Just check out their website for an order form (2 dozen minimum). 

Let me break it down now! 

Curbside Cupcakes / various Washington, D.C. curbsides / www.curbsidecupcakes.com 

Note: You’ll receive updates on  Pinky’s every move and flavor availability if you “like” Curbside Cupcakes on Facebook.  You can follow them on Twitter, too.  One other option to find Pinky – sign up for the “email subscription” on their website. 

1. Price:  $3 each / half dozen: $15 / dozen: $27 

2. Room temperature:  No, they were cold upon purchasing…very cold, it seemed.  Just you wait though, maybe an hour, and they’ll be perfect. 

3.  Size:  Standard cake size, and generous amounts of frosting. 

4. Vegan or gluten free options:  The do have gluten free, but said they don’t recommend them to people with serious allergies since they bake in a facility with flour and don’t use seperate bowls. 

5. To-go packaging:  My selection came in a brown paper bag with a company sticker.  Looks like you get a nice box with dividers if you order 6+ cupcakes. 

6. Milk for sale?:   Just cupcakes here, nothing else. 

7.  Other treats for non-cupcake enthusiasts you may have in tow:    See #6. 

8.  Ambiance:   I guess this is constantly changing, but can most likely always be described as urban. 

9. Service:  These guys were moving!  One guy greets you, writes down your order, and handles the payment.  The second guy is filling all the orders.   All of this was done with sunny dispositions.   

Final Verdict:  Just because they’re on the move daily, does not mean these cupcakes sacrifice quality.  They’re hella good and so worth tracking down!  This was a hard decision, so we have a tie!  The Key Lime and Strawberry w/Vanilla will both occupy the #5 spot on the “Top 10″. 

Cute! Even the Hubcaps are Pink!

 

Strawberry w/Vanilla Cupcake

 

Red Velvet Cupcake

  

Curbside Cupcakes on Urbanspoon

4 Responses to “Found: Pinky, the Nomadic Cupcakery!”

  1. @jmdc88 August 28, 2010 at 9:54 pm #

    Curbside is my fave in town! Surprised your red velvet was cold though cause whenever I get the cupcakes, they’re ready to eat!

    • jnbean August 29, 2010 at 12:47 pm #

      Hmmm, maybe the cold cupcake was an anomoly. I’ll just have to get another one :) Thanks for the tip, Julie!

  2. SMB September 7, 2010 at 5:52 pm #

    Their Raspberry Lemonade is heaven. Best cupcake I’ve ever had.

    • jnbean September 8, 2010 at 10:21 pm #

      Every time I’m in DC, I’m desperately searching for Pinky. The Raspberry Lemonade will have to be my next purchase, it sounds awesome! Thanks for tip!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

